top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemlematuza1

Now What? Where do we go from here?

Updated: Mar 17, 2020

I am sure of this, that HE who started a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

Philippians 1:6




I can honestly say I have never seen anything like our current situation with COVID 19 in my lifetime. It's not to say that our nation did not have its challenges. But the space shuttle challenger or 9/11 simply didn't have the technology behind it that kept a level of anxiety much higher.


Uncertainty and Fear

The interesting place I find myself in during our nation's current situation. You see, a little over a year ago, my life sort of came to a screeching halt with the unexpected death of Joey at college. It was such an odd feeling, life continued for all those around me but for me it was as if I was just stuck. Of course we stopped working for a bit. I had no ability to cook/clean just sort of in shock. Then there was the fear that something else was going to happen. The fear for my other children losing their brother and what that looks like. I so wanted to be able to control what was happening but there was nothing in my control and this became very evident. I can promise you though God made himself known that week in so many real ways. My situation brought out the best in so many incredible people.


With this uncertainty of COVID-19 I would encourage you to look at the big picture. The nation is taking action to subside this disease hitting our nation all at once. It's tough for our lives to be changed that drastically without much notice. I get it. For many of us with a pretty established routine, it generates anxiety and creates a fear we may not have had previously. I see my teenage boys and how they are affected by this. My older son definitely getting his news somewhere and even in a bit of a panic at times. I had him go to the store with me to show him it is okay. The sad part of this situation is that what is currently happening is we are all being forced to spend time with our loved ones and it's not planned or part of our routine so we aren't able to see the blessing in that. If I could go back a year and spend that time with my family, I would absolutely relish it because my son would be part of that moment.


For most of us in good health, we are at a much lower risk of COVID 19 requiring medical intervention. I think of family members I have who have recently gone through cancer treatment or have an auto immune disorder. I think of my older parents who are otherwise healthy but may get very sick with COVID 19. It is these people our nation is looking out for with this response. We must remember that. I tried to go to the store the other night to buy one thing and had to just leave when I saw the long lines and the store closing early to restock. Our panic level as a nation has placed us in a very different place. Please if you are able offer any groceries or paper products you may have to an immune compromised friend/family member or neighbor.


Our perspective needs to shift. Let's try to not focus on ourselves in this crisis but focus on our nation as a whole. The United States historically is adaptable all the way back to the pioneers heading out west in covered wagons. There was a resilience in them knowing they could get through this. We can and will do the same if we do not let fear and anxiety control our response. Replace it with FAITH and HOPE.


I can tell you in my most fear filled anxious moment the evening of March 24, 2019. I simply cried out to God to carry me through what I didn't know and couldn't control. God knew where I was and comforted me in that time helping me see his presence in my most traumatic moment as a mother. It was very evident to me that God never left my side through it all. It was me who let fear and anxiety get in the way of my faith. God is bigger than my great loss and he is bigger than COVID 19.


What can I do to HELP?

Like I said earlier, offer to bring groceries and/or paper products to someone who should not be at the store to protect their own immune system. Make a meal and deliver it to someone in that position. Offer to pick up their prescriptions for them if necessary.

In an earlier blog I suggested that for the month of March, we take time to thank our local police since they deal with so much on a regular basis and sometimes their mental health suffers. Bring them gift cards to sandwich/donut shops or maybe deliver donuts/cookies to the station. This should not change. Let's lift up those whose work load has increased greatly with this situation.

If your children are home from school unexpectedly, maybe they could offer to clean an older person's yard for them.

The possibilities are endless if we are able to see beyond ourselves and the fear.


In God we Trust?


Each of you can take a moment to look at a dollar bill in your wallet. There are very important words on that bill that our nation was founded on. IN GOD WE TRUST. Our forefathers knew there would be tough times but the HOPE and FAITH we had from our TRUST in GOD would get us through. We would be required to adapt to uncertain times but our resilience through faith would allow us to think beyond ourselves and come together as a nation.


But how can we come together as a nation if all our togetherness is not allowed. Coming together means we are supporting each other through these unexpected times. I challenge you to spend quality time with your family that may be together unexpectedly. Help someone in need at this time, some ideas that come to mind I talked about earlier.

-Make cards for nursing home residents and bring flowers with the cards

-Make cards for first responders to deliver with a special store bought treat

-Offer to get groceries/meals for someone who shouldn't be out in stores (immune compromised)

-Encourage Teens to help clean up the yards of those who need assistance

-Order take out from local restaurants to help support them

-Letters to doctors- have your children write letters to their doctors/nurses thanking them for all they do and send them in the good old fashioned snail mail.

-High school seniors- this group is especially affected in that this is their last year in high school and if they are social, their world has changed dramatically. Encourage them to connect with their friends via phone or online. Maybe they could go as small groups to help those who need extra help at this time with groceries. Water softener salt delivery to those who cannot do that themselves. Help our seniors play an important role for someone somewhere. Give them a purpose.

-Go for walks, offer to take neighbors dogs for walks especially if they are still reporting to work or need to stay in.

-Make meals and deliver to those in need.

-Shovel someone's driveway (midwest)

-Teach your child or sibling to cook/bake

-Start a journal

These are just a few ideas but there are many online.




Lean into the things you can control

It is hard to keep this mind with the newS coming at us from all angles but I encourage you to lean into what you can control. You can control what you expose yourself to as far as news. If it is starting to be too much, take a break, If you need to exercise at home, there are a lot of options. I have not used these for a while and may need to start. Fitness Blender is a youtube channel. You can actually pay a small fee to have their calendar and each day you are assigned a video which you check when you complete.

You can control your prayer response. God is there, he is our comfort and our strength at all times, especially these.


Technology

We are fortunate to be blessed with modern technology that allows us to communicate even face to face without personal contact. Utilize this in a supportive way helping others. Locally I noticed someone set up an online page where those who need meals/childcare/help can reach out to others in the community for assistance.

You can control what you do for yourself, your family and others.


Pray.. pray for peace for our hearts at this time.


Lord we lift up this nation to you at this anxious time. Let us turn to you in our uncertainty.


Do not fear for I am with you; for I am with you; do not be afraid for I am your God. I will strengthen you; I will help you; I will hold onto you with my righteous right hand.

Isaiah 41:10






When I speak to young people about mental health, I show this video...Persist... Press On

Let laughter ease your fears. Lucy was my favorite when I was young and you will see why in this video.

Lucy and Ethel try to keep up.



65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Boomerang Blessing

1 Corinthians 13:1 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. Grief is a complicated thing.   It puts you in a place of self

bottom of page