top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemlematuza1

My Son

Updated: May 29, 2019

My son how I still miss you

It's clear that you're not here

I listen for your laughter but

instead I shed a tear


We never will forget you

and the impact that you made

for us it is a constant to

wish you could have stayed.


You made me smile so often

those memories I hold close

knowing that you loved us

really meant the most


We're sad to know of your suffering

and wish we would have known

we would have done anything

to see you come back home


Your smile was a treasure

we capture in our minds

knowing we will see you again

gives us the peace we seek and find


Your kind gentle nature

is something we hold true

treating others with an open heart

like only you would do.


While our pain is always present

you left your story here

A story that may help others

to overcome the fear.


While the struggle you endured is difficult for

us to understand

We know you fought it the best you could

and you were a fine young man.


I would ask you a favor from Mother to son,

please let God know your mom needs extra love.


I'll do my best to carry on without your presence here

I'll do it with compassion for those who carry the fear.


I'll use your story often to the best of my ability

to reach out to the hurting who will walk this path like me.


Thank you for those 19 years I'll treasure in my heart.

You were for me a blessing

from the very start.


I'll see you on the other side God willing not for a while.

I'll hold on to that picture, that picture of your smile.


I'll do my best to take care of your siblings left behind

they will miss you dearly

but have their futures in mind.




65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Boomerang Blessing

1 Corinthians 13:1 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. Grief is a complicated thing.   It puts you in a place of self

bottom of page