top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemlematuza1

Mourning has broken

Philippians 3:14

I PRESS ON toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.



I recently took down some bulletin boards I had in my kitchen, one for each child. This photo was stuck to the wall behind Joeys. What a gift these photo memories are now.

Grief and trauma are heavy and bring with them such an active mourning time. One of the many friends I have been blessed with through this experience describes those initial times as the mourning. Eventually that mourning is not so raw as the news becomes reality. The grief and even the broken heart will always be there but the mourning is now more manageable. You break out of that mourning phase but still have the grief to carry which is okay because that grief is just a representation of your love. That would be my best description of 5 years for me personally.



Wrestling with those emotional bursts and trauma triggers also becomes more manageable as you start to learn what the triggers are and how to respond to them.

I’ve been very blessed to be connected to many other grieving parents through

https://ourheartsarehome.org/ and it has helped me navigate a journey no one can prepare themselves for. The gift of perspective from others who are living a similar story truly helps heal in so many ways.


I enjoyed watching Joey wrestle but it was hard seeing the struggle and how much strength was required to finish a match. Some of you even now may be starting to wrestle with a question I have made peace with…how can someone who could handle wrestling leave the way he did?


These questions the what if’s, how come’s and why’s are honestly an opponent you will wrestle with forever. I have learned they do nothing but create self doubt, guilt, regret and deep sadness so I wrestle against these thoughts and do all I can not to dwell in that place. Pin them down!


Everyone wrestles with something in life. It’s just the nature of humanity but it’s how you respond to it that can make or break you. Pressing On isn’t easy but have faith, you will get through it.





Asking for help is sometimes necessary. There are wonderful counselors, therapists, pastors out there who will actively listen to what you are wrestling with and help you.

There is also the hotline which is now 988. We briefly were aware of Joeys struggles since he picked up the phone and called the hotline 5 weeks before he passed. I’m grateful for that phone call because we had a glimpse of the struggle…




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Boomerang Blessing

1 Corinthians 13:1 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. Grief is a complicated thing.   It puts you in a place of self

bottom of page